Die historische Salzstraße

Entdecken Sie die historische Salzstraße in der Vogelparkregion Recknitztal.

Salz war in der Vogelparkregion Recknitztal einst sehr wichtig. Es wurde in Bad Sülze gewonnen und durch die ganze Region bis an die Ostsee transportiert, um es in andere Städte zu verschiffen. Heute knüpfen viele Unternehmen an diese alte Tradition des früher so genannten “weißen Goldes” an.

Beginnen Sie Ihre Reise

Kurpark Bad Sülze

Der Kurpark von Bad Sülze lädt alle Gäste zum Verweilen und Entspannen ein. Machen Sie einen Spaziergang entlang der Bäume oder besuchen Sie die nahe gelegenen Salzwiesen.

Aktivität

1 hour

Der Park in Bad Sülze lädt zum Verweilen ein. Der 13 Hektar große Park mit altem Baumbestand, Ziergehölzen, ausgedehnten Rhododendronhainen und Blumenrabatten verzaubert durch seine natürliche Kraft. Legen Sie sich auf eine der Parkbänke und Liegen und lassen Sie die besondere Atmosphäre der Natur auf sich wirken. Während die Gedanken schweifen, erwacht die Natur zum Leben: Singvögel, Insekten und vielleicht sogar Kraniche fliegen vorbei.

Im Herbst begrüßen Tausende von Dahlienblüten in unzähligen Farben die Gäste.

Liebevoll gestaltete Skulpturen erwarten Sie beim jährlichen Dahlienfest. Das nahe gelegene Salzmuseum bietet viele Informationen über die Geschichte der Salzgewinnung. Ein besonderes Highlight ist das Freiluft-Gradierwerk im Garten des Museums. Genießen Sie eine Tasse Kaffee und ein Stück selbstgebackenen Kuchen, während Sie der Sole lauschen, die an den Schwarzdornzweigen heruntertropft.

Saline 9, 18334 Bad Sülze, Germany

Recknitz

Der Fluss Recknitz fließt friedlich durch die Region. Genießen Sie die unterschiedlichen Landschaften entlang des Flusslaufs und begegnen Sie unterwegs einigen Wildtieren.

Aktivität

2 hours

Die Recknitz lädt zu einer entschleunigten Fahrt in die wunderschöne Flusslandschaft ein. Der Flusslauf ist größtenteils naturbelassen oder renaturiert. Er schlängelt sich durch ein breites eiszeitliches Urstromtal. Die Gäste können den Fluss ganz entspannt mit dem Kanu, Stand Up Paddle Board oder Floß befahren. Mit nur wenigen Paddelschlägen tauchen Sie in eine Welt voller Stille, Ruhe und Schönheit ein.

In der Nähe des Kanuverleihs in Marlow befindet sich das alte Boot mit weiteren Informationen über den Schmuggler auf der Recknitz.

Försterei 3 Recknitzbrücke L18 Marlow, 18334 Semlow, Germany

Salzmanufaktur M-V

Die Salzmanufaktur MV ist einer der verborgenen Schätze der Region. Im Herzen des kleinen Dorfes Trinwillershagen baute Axel Günther seinen eigenen Salzturm.

Aktivität

1.5 hours

Genießen Sie die salzige Luft im Turm der Salzmanufaktur. Die gesundheitsfördernde Wirkung der Sole wird Ihre Lunge und Haut beruhigen. Der Turm in Form eines Salzkristalls besteht aus 32 Tonnen Himalaya-Salzblöcken. Der hauseigene Gradierwerksturm schafft eine besondere Entspannungsatmosphäre, unterstützt durch beruhigende Musik und spezielle Beleuchtung.

Der kleine Laden bietet verschiedene Gourmetsalzprodukte an. Geschmacksrichtungen wie “Recknitztaler Fischsalz” und “Ostseebrise” bringen Sie auf den Geschmack der Region. Sie können an einer Salzverkostung teilnehmen und mehr über die verschiedenen Salzsorten erfahren.

Feldstraße 10, 18320 Trinwillershagen, Germany

Hafen Damgarten

Genießen Sie die friedliche Atmosphäre des Damgartener Hafens.

Der Hafen von Damgarten bietet Platz zum Ausruhen für die ganze Familie. Genießen Sie ein Picknick an einem der Tische oder werfen Sie den Grill an, um Ihr eigenes Abendessen zuzubereiten.

Beobachten Sie die alten Boote im Hafen und erfahren Sie mehr über die Geschichte des Ortes. Die nahe gelegenen Geschäfte und Restaurants freuen sich auf Besucher. Der örtliche Ruderverein kümmert sich um die Verleihstation, damit Sie Ihre eigene Tour auf dem Bodden oder dem Fluss Recknitz starten können. Sie haben die Wahl zwischen Kanus und Paddelbooten. Nach ein paar Paddelschlägen tauchen Sie in die friedliche Flusslandschaft ein.

Kanuverleih Hafen Damgarten, Schillstraße, Ribnitz-Damgarten, Germany

Wie kommen Sie herum?

Die Geschichte des Salzes in der Vogelparkregion Recknitztal reicht bis ins 13. Jahrhundert zurück. In der alten Stadt Bad Sülze wurde Salz durch Verdunstung des salzhaltigen Grundwassers (Sole) gewonnen. Zu Beginn des Prozesses tropfte die Sohle über ein Gradierwerk, um die natürliche Befeuchtung zur Erhöhung des Salzgehaltes im Wasser zu nutzen. Nach dem Trocknungsprozess wurde das Salz in große Säcke gefüllt und auf Boote verladen. Diese transportierten das Salz auf der Recknitz, vorbei an Damgarten und Dierhagen, bis die Boote in die Ostsee einfuhren. Die kostbare Ladung kam schließlich im großherzoglichen Salzlager in der Hansestadt Wismar an.

Touristische Anbieter in der Region würdigen die Historische Salzstraße und lassen sie auf teils moderne Weise wieder aufleben. Besuchen Sie Museen, Cafés, die Salzmanufaktur, Schmuckateliers, Restaurants – sie werden Ihnen die Vielfalt des Salzes zeigen. Alle teilnehmenden Einrichtungen laden Sie ein, selbst zum Schmuggler zu werden – Sie erhalten zwei kleine Souvenirs, eines, das Sie selbst behalten dürfen, und eines, das Sie an der nächsten Station gegen neue Souvenirs eintauschen können. Sie haben die Wahl: Sie können mit dem Fahrrad fahren, ein Kanu nehmen oder mit der Fähre über den Bodden fahren. Die Historische Salzstraße hat viel zu bieten – gehen Sie auf Entdeckungsreise und erleben Sie salzige kulturelle und kulinarische Schätze.

Ihre Reiseart macht einen Unterschied!

Ein großer Teil des Reisens besteht darin, von Ort zu Ort zu gelangen. Egal, ob Sie im Ausland oder in den lokalen oder regionalen Gemeinschaften unterwegs sind. Es gibt eine Vielzahl von Transportmöglichkeiten, aber als Gast, der sich wohlfühlt und Gutes tun will, ist ein nachhaltiges Transportmittel zu bevorzugen. Nachhaltige Verkehrssysteme leisten einen positiven Beitrag zur ökologischen, sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Nachhaltigkeit der Gemeinschaften, die sie bedienen.

Im folgenden Beispiel können Sie sehen, wie verschiedene Verkehrsmittel mehr oder weniger CO2-Emissionen pro Personenkilometer verursachen. Wir hoffen, dass dieses Beispiel Ihnen dabei helfen kann, Ihre Verkehrsmittelwahl zu ändern.

Hintergrund und Annahmen für die Berechnung

Die Länge der Strecke beträgt 52 km mit dem Fahrrad und 44 km mit dem Auto.

In den folgenden Beispielen haben wir die folgenden Annahmen getroffen:

  • Alle Fahrer haben eine kraftstoffsparende Fahrweise.
  • Die Berechnung für Busse berücksichtigt, dass sie im Teillastbereich fahren.
  • Die CO2-Emissionen von Elektrofahrzeugen können je nach Art der Stromerzeugung variieren.
  • Für die Biogasemissionen wird ein einheitlicher Durchschnittswert verwendet, der jedoch je nach Produktionsart variieren kann.

Hinweis: Die unten aufgeführten Verkehrsmittel dienen nur zu Vergleichszwecken. Prüfen Sie die Verfügbarkeit an Ihrem Zielort. Unterschiedliche Verkehrsmittel können sich auf die vorgeschlagene Länge der Route auswirken.

Wählen Sie klug und reduzieren Sie Ihren ökologischen Fußabdruck!
Bike
Fahrrad - 0 g/CO2

Beste Wahl, Geringer Ausstoß

Electrical Bike
Elektrisches Fahrrad - 69,7 g/CO2

Geringer Ausstoß

Electric Public Transport
Elektrischer ÖPNV - 591 gCO2

Mittlerer Ausstoß (provided that the Bus is well filled)

Electric Public Transport
Biotreibstoff ÖPNV - 313 gCO2

Mittlerer Ausstoß (provided that the Bus is well filled)

Public Transport
ÖPNV - 1026 g/CO2

Mittlerer Ausstoß (provided that the Bus is well filled)

Electric car
Elektroauto - 786 g/CO2

Mittlerer Ausstoß (Mittelgroßes Elektrofahrzeug)

Biofuel car
Auto mit Biokraftstoff - 537 gCO2

Mittlerer Ausstoß (Mittelgroßes Biogasfahrzeug)

Car
Auto - 2057 g/CO2

Großer Ausstoß (Mittelgroßes Dieselfahrzeug)

Reisen Sie klimafreundlich?

Berechnen Sie den Klima-Fußabdruck Ihrer Reise! Der Reise- und Klimarechner hilft Ihnen bei der Auswahl klimaschonender Reiseoptionen zwischen verschiedenen Reisezielen. Sie können auch eine Schätzung der Auswirkungen Ihrer Unterkunft erhalten.

Die historische Salzstraße

Discovering the historic salt road in Vogelparkregion Recknitztal.

Salt was once very important in the Vogelparkregion Recknitztal. It was produced in Bad Sülze and transported through the whole region up to the Baltic Sea to ship it to other cities. Nowadays, many companies connect to this old tradition of the formerly called „white gold“.

Start your journey

Kurpark Bad Sülze

The spa park of Bad Sülze invites all guests to linger and relax. Take a walk along the trees or visit the nearby salt meadows.

Activity

1 hour

The park in Bad Sülze invites you to linger. The 13 hectare big Park with mature trees, ornamental trees, extensive Rhododendron groves and flower borders enchants with its natural strength. Lay down on one of the park benches and loungers and take in the special atmosphere of nature. While the thoughts are roaming, nature comes to life: songbirds, insects and maybe even cranes will fly by.

In autumn, thousands of dahlia blossoms in countless colors welcome the guests.

Lovingly designed sculptures await you at the annual dahlia festival. The nearby salt museum provides lots of information about the history of the salt production. The outdoor graduation tower in the museum’s garden is a special highlight. Enjoy a cup of coffee and a piece of homemade cake while you listen to the brine dripping down the blackthorne.

Saline 9, 18334 Bad Sülze, Germany

Recknitz

The river Recknitz flows peacefully through the region. Enjoy the different landscapes along the river course and meet some wild animals along your way.

Activity

2 hours

The river Recknitz invites guests to enjoy a decelerated trip into the wonderful river landscape. Most of the river’s course is untouched or rewilded. It meanders through a wide ice-aged glacial valley. Guests can take an easy and very relaxed ride on the river by canoe, stand up paddle board or raft. With just a few paddle strokes you dive into a world full of silence, calmness and beauty.

Close to the canoeing rental station of Marlow, you can find the old boat with more information about the smuggler at the river Recknitz.

Försterei 3 Recknitzbrücke L18 Marlow, 18334 Semlow, Germany

Salzmanufaktur M-V

The salt manufactory MV is one of the hidden treasures in the region. In the heart of the little village Trinwillershagen, Axel Günther built his own salt tower.

Activity

1.5 hours

Enjoy the salty air in the tower of the salt manufactory. The healthy effect of the brine will sooth your lungs and skin. The tower shaped like a salt crystal is made out of 32t of Himalayan salt blocks. The in-house graduation tower creates a special relaxing atmosphere supported by calming music and special lighting.

The little shop offers different gourmet salt products. Flavours like „Recknitztaler Fischsalz“ and „Ostseebrise“ bring you the taste of the region. You can join a salt tasting and learn more about the different kinds of salt.

Feldstraße 10, 18320 Trinwillershagen, Germany

Hafen Damgarten

Enjoy the peaceful atmosphere at the Damgarten harbor.

The harbor of Damgarten offers space to rest for the whole family. Enjoy a picknick at one of the tables or start the grill to cook your own dinner.

Watch the old boats in the harbor and learn more about the history of the place. Nearby shops and restaurants are happy to welcome visitors. The local rowing club takes care of the rental station so you can start your own trip on the bodden or the river Recknitz. You can make a choice between canoes and paddle boats. After a few paddle strokes, you will enter the peaceful river landscape.

Kanuverleih Hafen Damgarten, Schillstraße, Ribnitz-Damgarten, Germany

How to get around

The history of salt in the Vogelparkregion Recknitztal traces back into the 13th century. In the old town Bad Sülze, salt was gained via vaporization of the salty ground water (sole). In the beginning of the process, the sole dripped over a graduation tower to use the natural humidification for increasing the salt degree in the water. After the drying process, the salt was poured in big pouches and loaded onto boats. Those transported the salt on the river Recknitz passing by Damgarten and Dierhagen until the boats entered the Baltic Sea. The precious load finally arrived at the salt storage depot of the Grand Duke in the hanseatic city of Wismar.

Touristic providers in the region pay tribute to the Historic Salt Road and revive it in sometimes even modern ways. Visit museums, cafés, the salt manufactory, jewelry ateliers, restaurants – they will show you the diversity of salt. All participating facilities invite you to be a smuggler – they will give you two little souvenirs, one to keep for yourself and one to trade at the next station for new souvenirs. The choice is yours: You can go by bike, take a canoe, or go by ferry on the bodden. The Historic Salt Road has a lot to offer – start your journey of discovery and experience salty cultural and culinary treasures.

Your mode of travel makes a difference!

A major part of traveling is getting from place to place. Whether you are abroad or traveling in the local or regional communities. There are multiple transportation options to choose from but as a wellbeing guest, with the intention of doing good, a sustainable transport mode is to be preferred. Sustainable transport systems make a positive contribution to the environmental, social, and economic sustainability of the communities they serve.

In the example below, you can see how different transport choices give more or less CO2 emissions per passenger-kilometers. We hope it can help you make changes on the way you get around.

Background and assumptions to the calculation

The length of the route is 38 km.

In the examples below we have the following assumptions:

  • All drivers have a fuel-efficient way of driving.
  • The calculation for buses considers that they are operating in partial load capacity.
  • CO2 emission for electric vehicles may vary based on how electricity is produced.
  • We use a single average for biogas emissions, although it may vary according to the production mode.

Note: The transport modes below are for comparison purposes. Check their availability at your destination. Different transport modes may affect the suggested length of the route.

Choose wisely and reduce your carbon footprint!
Bike
Bike - 0 g/CO2

Best Choice, Low Impact

Electrical Bike
Electric bike - 69,7 g/CO2

Low Impact

Electric Public Transport
Electric public transport - 591 gCO2

Medium Impact (provided that the Bus is well filled)

Electric Public Transport
Biofuel public transport - 313 gCO2

Medium Impact (provided that the Bus is well filled)

Public Transport
Public transport - 1026 g/CO2

Medium Impact (provided that the Bus is well filled)

Electric car
Electric car - 786 g/CO2

Medium Impact (Medium sized electric vehicle)

Biofuel car
Biofuel car - 537 gCO2

Medium Impact (Medium sized biogas vehicle)

Car
Car - 2057 g/CO2

High Impact (Medium sized diesel vehicle)

Do you travel climate-smart?

Calculate your trip’s climate footprint! For more details, the travel & climate calculator will help you choose travel options with low climate impact between your home and your desired destination. You can also have an estimative about the impact of your accommodation.